It began to be built as a manor house in the 16th century. It originally belonged to the Paiba family and later to the Counts of Corbos and the Counts of Miraflores. It was in 1901 when it became the property of Regla Manjón Mergelina, the Countess of Lebrija, who carried out a restoration and fitted it out to house antiques.
This 16th century Palace-House is one of the best houses in Seville, as not only does it have an excellent collection of Roman mosaics, but its rooms also contain many archaeological remains of incalculable historical and artistic value: vases, amphorae, columns, vessels and sculptures.
The main courtyard is an architectural jewel due to its wooden ceiling, its polychrome gilt iron grille and its floor composed of a Roman mosaic. Its beauty is highlighted by its decorative elements, its arabesque arches, its Plateresque style ornaments and its Andalusian façade and plant.
In 1901, the Countess of Lebrija, predecessor of the current owners and a great fan of archaeology, had the house restored and decorated with motifs and archaeological remains found near Italica. In addition to the archaeological remains, there are elements from the Arab and Roman periods, a collection of wellheads, amphorae, columns and sculptures, Greco-Roman busts and mythological representations, along with others in Chinese and Persian style, all of which are displayed on walls and in showcases. The glyptic collection found in the Archaeological Site of Italica is displayed in one of the showcases.
His paintings include works by Van Dyck, Bruegel the Elder and paintings from the Murillo School.