Santiponce Itálica


An immense legacy waiting to be discovered

Chapel of the Veracruz


The chapel was built in the mid-16th century (1557) by local master-builders. 

The rectangular church has a single nave covered by a modern coffered ceiling in the Mudejar-style. The overall structure of the chapel and the bell gable on the façade, both from the first half of the 16th century, remain standing. Extensive renovations were carried out in the second quarter of the 18th century. The portal at the west end and the one on the left wall (1732) are from that period. The main portal consists of a semi-circular arch flanked by Tuscan pilasters, both with bossage, crowned by a straight and unadorned entablature.

The retable on the high altar consists of a predella, a panel with a central niche flanked by Corinthian columns and a gable. Built in the early 19th century, it has an austere structure with frugal ornamentation befitting the neo-classical aesthetic. This altarpiece was commissioned to house several sculptures that already existed in the temple, including the Christ of the True Cross, a mid-16th century Renaissance image attributed to the Flemish sculptor Roque de Balduque. The Confraternity of the Holy Charity was founded in the late 16th century next to the altarpiece of Saint John Lateran. His posture on the cross with extended arms and the shape of his tensed muscles are unique.


New comment

The comments are moderated, so it takes a while to appear. If they contain offensive language they will not be published.