The Confraternity of the Trinity built the chapel in the early 18th century (1719-1723) to worship their titular images.
In 1731, a group of boys would walk through the streets singing the rosary “more for childish entertainment than true devotion”. Gradually, more people joined them until the Confraternity of the Servites was founded. The Church of Our Lady of Sorrows is the architectural gem of the Confraternity.
The Jesuits came to Utrera and founded a convent with a school. The Rodrigo Caro School stands now on that site. All that remains is this church, known as St Francis the New, the sacristy and the meeting room.
Santiago is profoundly linked to Utrera’s origin as a city. The original church that stood opposite the Castle was the heart of present-day Utrera. According to the chronicles, the primitive church of Santiago was looted in the second half of the 14th century by Mohamed V of Granada.
Located in the Plaza de España, the church is a Mudejar-style building with a single nave and simple exterior appearance dating from the 15th and 16th centuries. It has a Gothic doorway from 1400, renovated in 1500. On its façade the remains of a Corinthian style column can be seen.
In 1513, the 4th Count of Ureña gifted the old San Sebastián Chapel and the adjoining charity hospital to the friars of the Order of Preachers so that they could found their convent. The Count had it recorded that the Chapel should not be demolished but rather incorporated into the new church. Its construction was completed on 7 March 1547.
This Shrine is dedicated to the image of Osuna’s patron saint, Saint Arcadius, who is taken in procession through the city every year on 12 January. The 17th-century church was renovated in the 18th century. The single nave shrine is covered by a barrel vault and the transept with a dome on pendentives.