The Chapel of La Virgen de Belén is located in the town of Navas de la Concepción in the province of Seville. It is a chapel dedicated to the Virgin of Bethlehem, located next to the mill. It is the place where the pilgrimage in honour of this Virgin was held until the end of the 19th century.
The town hall is a building that still retains its neoclassical façade from 1782, having survived all the renovations and extensions it has undergone. The most outstanding features are the giant pilasters crossing all the floors of the building. The Ensenada Land Registry (18th century), considered the first inventory of its kind in Spain, is preserved in its historical archive.
The Palace of the Marquises of Benamejí that currently houses Ecija’s Municipal Historical Museum is a landmark of the city’s 18th-century civil architecture. It precisely defines the unique form of the Baroque that developed in Lower Andalusia.
This building was commissioned to the Sevillian master-builder Ambrosio de Figueroa in the 18th century by the San Juan Bautista Church. According to the books, it was used to store and restore the Church’s furnishings. It was also used as a granary. The building belonged to the parish, as evidence by the Cross of St John on the main gate.
Ecija’s Municipal Historical Museum has allowed the city to recovery the Benamejí Palace -a magnificent example of 18th-century Ecijan Baroque, listed as a Historical-Artistic Monument. The extraordinary historical and archaeological heritage, both of the city and its municipal district can now be exhibited, preserved and remembered as one of the richest in Andalusia.