The Palace of San Telmo was built in 1682 to house the Seminary College of the University of Mareantes. In 1849 it became the residence of the Dukes of Montpensier, who completed the north tower and built the entrance to the hallway, the east wing and the ballroom.
The Plaza de España, of about 50,000 square metres, is located at the north-east end of the Maria Luisa Park. It was built by the architect Aníbal González between 1914 and 1929 on the occasion of the 1929 Ibero-American Exhibition. Today it is one of the most emblematic places in Seville and one of the greatest exponents of regionalist architecture.
The Plaza América is in the María Luisa Park and was designed and directed by the architect Aníbal González y Álvarez-Osorio (1876-1929). It was opened in 1916 and is surrounded by an oval road for traffic and by the Palace of Ancient Art (now the Museum of Popular Arts and Customs), the Royal Pavilion and the Palace of Fine Arts (now the Archaeological Museum).
The Ibero-American Exhibition took place in the Spanish city of Seville. It opened on 9 May 1929 and closed on 21 June 1930. It was held to showcase the twinning between Spain, Latin America, the United States, Portugal and Brazil.
The exhibition coincided with the 1929 Barcelona International Exhibition. Both were considered the General Spanish Exhibition
The Royal Pavilion is a building in the Plaza de América, south of the María Luisa Park in Seville. It was built in 1916 to be used as an exhibition centre for the 1929 Ibero-American Exhibition.
Next to Bécquer avenue, there is the roundabout of the same name, the monument of which is undoubtedly the most accurate and most appropriate to decorate a romantic garden such as the Maria Luisa park.