Écija Palacio Peñaflor

Seville enchants

This is one of the many Gothic-Mudejar churches that were built within the town walls during the 14th century, although this is one of the churches that was most reformed and extended in the following centuries, especially between the 16th and 19th centuries.

The building dates back to the mid-sixteenth century and has been occupied by different religious orders. The community of the Minim Friars of St Francis of Paola ran it from 1726 to 1855, when it was handed over to the Congregation of Most Holy Lady of Sorrows and St Philip Neri.

The Convento de la Visitación de Santa Isabel (Philippian Mothers) was founded in the last quarter of the 16th century and has been occupied by various religious orders. It was originally a nunnery, which in 1731 joined the order of the Minim nuns, who took over the convent.

The building dates from the 17th century and is the headquarters of a charity promoted by Miguel de Mañara, a philanthropist who cared for the underprivileged. In many other hospitals, sick homeless were not admitted, so he decided to cure those patients in the Brotherhood of the Holy Charity itself and inaugurated the first infirmary of the Hospital in June 1674.

The Santa Florentina Convent is one of the first Dominican convents in Andalusia. The original building and foundations date back to the second half of the sixteenth century. Today, it comprises several buildings from different periods, mostly the 17th and 18th centuries.

In the pedestrian high street of the town, Mesones Street, stands this Chapel of the old Charity Hospital, now a nursing home run by the Mercedarian Sisters. 

The Convent of Las Teresas is located in the former palace of the Counts of Palma, a fascinating Mudejar building erected in the 14th and 15th centuries.