This 18th-century Church (1745-1757) owes its name to the image of the Holy Christ of Mercy that presides over the high altar.
This typical baroque manor house is the epitome of local urban architecture in the 18th century. It was built by Alonso Ruiz Florindo, who modernised and improved his father’s style. The façade has a vertical portal with a balcony and viewpoint. However, the entrance is offset to the left, facing straight into San Sebastian Street, which runs perpendicular to Lora Street.
This temple, opened in March 1769, was the first building constructed in this village. Due to the epidemic of “Tercianas” or malaria, the church was used as a hospital for men and renamed “Juan Bautista Alvitt”.
It is a typical baroque church built during Pablo de Olavide’s repopulation initiative under King Carlos III.
The building from 1753 belonged to the Fernández de Peñaranda family, with whom the various master-builders were related. This baroque-style public building has a façade noteworthy for its dynamism, composition and rich motifs. Indeed, the building of itself speaks of the artist, Alonso Ruiz Florindo.
The Lisbon earthquake destroyed the old town hall. In 1763, it was decided to appoint two architects to build a new building. The project submitted to the Royal Academy of Fine Arts by the local master-builder Alonso Ruiz Florindo was rejected owing to its baroque style. The design that was ultimately accepted was by Ventura Rodríguez, the Court’s chief architect.
It was initially built to accommodate an abattoir, a butcher’s shop and the municipal granary. Notable are the two doors with broken pediment, one for each room. This building is steeped in history.
This museum is located in the former Hospital de la Caridad, next to the San Sebastián Church. It consists of thematic rooms that illustrate the developments in the baroque-style typical of Fuentes de Andalucía. This new exhibition space is one of the most expressive and unique in Andalusia.