Écija Palacio Peñaflor

Seville enchants

The most outstanding feature of the Sevillian town of El Real de la Jara in terms of architecture at the service of the community is the municipal bullring, for which materials such as 19th century quarry stones were used.

The Plaza de Toros de la Real Maestranza de Caballería in Seville is the oldest bullring in Spain. It is the venue for the bullfights that take place within the framework of the Seville April Fair, one of the most renowned bullfighting festivals in the world. It is considered one of the most popular tourist attractions in the town and is among the most visited monuments.

It is the oldest bullring in the province of Seville and is built on the parade ground of a Muslim castle dating from around 1400, with archaeological remains of a wall, minarets and the main door of the town's old Andalusian castle integrated into its interior.

El Castillo de las Guardas’ bullring is located in the town where two of the province’s most important fighting bull breeding farms are situated. Its location is unique in that it can be seen from the porch of the San Juan Bautista Parish Church. 

This Museum seeks to recover the memory of the famous bullfighter Antonio Fuentes Zurita (Seville, 1869 -1938), whose professional career unfolded over the last decade of the 20th century.    

The bullring, with one thousand-seat capacity, opened on 28 August 1994. Although initially it only had half a grandstand, the other half was added in 2010.

Although it is usually used for bullfights with young bulls and mounted bullfighting, it also features horse shows and amateur bullfights.

Utrera’s Bullring was opened on 8 September 2010 to replace the old bullring known as “El Arrecife”.