Old gate of the crenellated villa with three semicircular arches.
The “Arco de la Rosa” (Rose Arch), also known as “Puerta de Sevilla” (Seville Gate), is one of the gates of the walled compound, and one of the landmarks that best embody the image of Marchena. This gate and its surrounding buildings were built in 1430, according to a Bull granted by Pope Martin V to promote this work.
Marchena’s Morón Gate was one of the gateways to the old walled city in medieval times.
Commonly known as “Los Cuatro Cantillos”, this gate had a military purpose and was usually closed. Access to the town was through a pointed horseshoe arch framed by an elaborately carved stone alfiz, which looks somewhat different from the original one.
This is an old religious building which, given its construction characteristics, can be dated to the late 15th century.
However, its original style is half hidden due to the alterations it underwent during the 18th century, and also due to the changes made at the end of the 1970s.
This narrow alleyway is 3 metres wide and 20 metres long, if the section under the arch is not included, in which case it would be 25 m. This alleyway is of particular interest as a unique space within the urban fabric. It provides access to Plaza Cardenal Espínola and is one of the most charming and historical spots within the urban core.
This building was built in 1307 and was originally the supply house of the Master of the Order of Santiago.
Architecturally, it is a slightly trapezoid-shaped ashlar construction. It consists of two floors, each of them formed by a nave roofed with a wooden framework.
In Calle López de Ayala you can find the Hospital de los Milagros, also known as the Hospitalito.
This building has a main doorway from the early 16th century consisting of a basket arch with decorated archivolts and a niche on the alfiz that frames it. It is believed that it was founded in the late 15th century. It was still in use at the end of the 18th century.