This church was built in 1481 by Alonso de Cardenas, Grand Master of the Order of Santiago.
A unique characteristic of this church that distinguishes it from others of its style is the great height of its pilasters, crowned by very simple capitals, which gives the building an extraordinary magnificence. In the first quarter of the 16th century, some noteworthy constructions were built, ranging from Gothic to Renaissance, as can be seen in the vault of the chancel, and which owe their presence to a great master contemporary of Diego de Riaño.
This church was closed for worship in 1936, before which it was occupied by the Hermanad de Nuestro Padre Jesús Nazareno.
It is currently being used as a marketplace.