The first reference to this winery dates back to 1711 when the Diosdado family built it in the 18th century. It was later Diosdado family. It was then passed on to the lineage of San Gil. A vast area (about 4,000 m2) borders with the Almohad wall and overlooks the Plaza de América and Santa Maria de la Oliva Church. Writers, musicians, intellectuals and bullfighters or other celebrities including Pio Baroja, Fernando Villalón and Azorín have spent time here.
In 2015, Margarita Halcón, the sister of the Marquis of San Gil, and the third of eight siblings took on a new project called Bodegas Halcón. Although the wineries were already up and running when she decided to take on this project, the Marqués de San Gil Winery-House underwent extensive renovations, particularly, the classification of wine and restoration of all casks.
The winery has a so-called Sacristy, where the best wines are kept and aged in northern red oak casks, including very old amontillados, palo cortado and oloroso viejo wine. These are exclusive wines that have been years in the making. These wines are aged by an oxidation process.
Inside are rooms related to wine production such as wine presses, cooperage, vinegar cellars, wine cellar and ageing facilities, as well as other spaces such as the private residence, oil mills, stables, vegetable garden and landscaped gardens dotted with the typical white clay pots from Lebrija.
It preserves one of the most iconic constructions of Lebrija’s cultural heritage, the vaulted structure with splendid arches, a perfect setting for ageing wines.
Option 1. Guided tour of the courtyards and gardens, Almohad wall and other unique spaces, old stables and tack room. It includes a tasting of two glasses of wine.
Option 2. Visit the wine cellars, courtyards and gardens, Almohad wall and inside the house, rooms and charming quarters imbued with the history of the illustrious people who lived in the house. It includes the tasting of three wines.
Monday – Saturday: 10:00 - 15:00