The Santiago Church is in the town centre, not very far away from the Fortified Compound and the Santa María del Águila Church.
The foundations date back to 1500. The Gothic floor plan consists of three naves covered with rib vaults. Parts of the Church are Neoclassical (18th century).
It is one of the most significant buildings due to its architectural features.
The Church consists of three naves. The additions made in different periods are still clearly visible. The apse of the naves, covered with rib vaults, belong to the original 16th-century building. The central section, covered with half-barrel vaults, is likely from the Baroque period (17th century). Unfortunately, the building suffered severe damages to the 1755 Lisbon earthquake and was renovated several times during the second half of the 18th century.
After the coup in 1936 and subsequent reaction of the people, the Church suffered an arson attack partially damaging the naves. They were restored over the following years by the architect, Juan Talavera. Nowadays, the church boasts several altarpieces and images from the 16th and 17th centuries. Interestingly, there is a Corinthian-style capital, of unknown origin, in the southwest corner of the building (Calle Sánchez Perrier).