The Plaza América is in the María Luisa Park and was designed and directed by the architect Aníbal González y Álvarez-Osorio (1876-1929). It was opened in 1916 and is surrounded by an oval road for traffic and by the Palace of Ancient Art (now the Museum of Popular Arts and Customs), the Royal Pavilion and the Palace of Fine Arts (now the Archaeological Museum).
The Ibero-American Exhibition took place in the Spanish city of Seville. It opened on 9 May 1929 and closed on 21 June 1930. It was held to showcase the twinning between Spain, Latin America, the United States, Portugal and Brazil.
The exhibition coincided with the 1929 Barcelona International Exhibition. Both were considered the General Spanish Exhibition